Samson’s achievements

By Samson Dada

August 2011 edition

Clayton Methodist Church Magazine

I would like to inform you that I have progressed onto my second year studying BA (Hons) International Relations and Politics at De Montfort University.

I won The Best Article Award at my university media awards – for the publication of my interview with Labour Shadow Health Minister Liz Kendall in my university newspaper, The Demon.

None of this would have been possible without God’s guidance and the support of my family and the church, and I am grateful for this.

In June, I did a one work week experience placement at The Leicester Mercury where I had news articles published in the newspaper, about a living wage in Leicester.

From Monday 25th – 29th July, I completed a work experience placement at The Guardian newspaper in London, which I thoroughly enjoyed. This follows my work at the newspaper last summer, when I was invited by the Managing Editor Elisabeth Ribbans to work at the newspaper for a second time. It was surreal to meet journalists in person like News Reporter Alexandra Topping, whose work I read on a regular basis.

Thanks very much for all your prayers and support over the years, and I look forward to sharing more news with you in the future.

Leave a Reply

